A new beginning

November 24, 2006

The Real World

Filed under: What a load of blog — pauldo @ 4:33 am

We all love to rant

If I hear someone else say “well, that’s what it’s like in the real world.” quite frankly I think I’ll pop. Whilst the real world maybe different things to different people it is certainly not a universe where pressure and organised chaos rein 24/7. Not in my experience anyway, and if it is, it’s only because you’ve really chosen that kind of lifestyle. You’ll have to forgive me, but I’m indulging myself in a rant here. This is my Aries trait! And besides I could be ranting on about the water turbidity, but I’ll leave that to someone else.

The argument, I hear and I’ve come across it more than once, in the last few weeks (when being shovelled more project work and more assignments on top of reading and the soon to commence revision) is that you’d be expected to have many projects to work on “when you’re in the real world”. Sorry, no, it’s not like that. You don’t choose to deliberately overburden yourself so you can’t see the wood for the trees. What good managers do is keep morale high, encourage staff, and allow structured time for learning – especially if you’re new to the job.

Work/Life Balance

Considered 21st century thinking has moved away from the 1980’s & 1990’s live for work, stress is a drug approach to work and life. The sociopath boss that continually hands out reams of work without considering how you’re getting on, would these days be investigated for poor management technique, and even disciplined – yes we are now in the times of upward reporting. There are checks and balances in place to ensure that targets are met through appraisal schemes and ongoing performance monitoring. In Europe there is even legislation in place called the working time directive, to ensure a work/life balance.

Is it just me?

I really am curious to know how much people are learning and absorbing when there is so much to take in. I’m just feeling a bit critical right now. Obviously, those in charge are experienced and have gone through this before, many times before. You’d assume, well, you’d like to think at the very least, that changes would be made over time following the recommendations and suggestions of the clients (in this case the paying students). I’m looking forward to the end of module feedback forms – now that is what happens in the real world! ;o)

Anyway, rant over – pressure value released. Back to my assignments! lol!

 

1 Comment »

  1. Perhaps it’s a matter of what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger 😉

    Comment by Sheena — November 29, 2006 @ 5:43 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

